Robert Yablonski Esprit Award

Colonel Robert Yablonski was an Olmsted Scholar in Lyon, France from 1980 to 1982, which began his lifelong support of the Olmsted Foundation. He returned twice to serve as a member of the Olmsted Foundation Board of Directors (1997-1998; 2001-2008), and as the Executive Vice President of the Foundation (2002-2008).

A year after stepping down as Executive Vice President and from the Board of Directors, Colonel Yablonski lost his long, courageous battle with leukemia.

Today, Colonel Yablonski's infectious enthusiasm, sense of humor, and passionate support of the Olmsted Foundation lives on through the Robert Yablonski Esprit Award.

Yablonski Esprit Award

Established in 2010, the Robert Yablonski Esprit Award is presented to the Olmsted Scholar that best exemplifies the enthusiasm for the ideals embodied in the Olmsted Scholar Program and the dedication to the Olmsted Foundation demonstrated by Colonel Yablonski in his years of selfless service to the Foundation.

Robert Yablonski Esprit Award recipients include:

  • Mr. Joe McManus
  • Olmsted Foundation Sec/Treas & General Counsel
  • 1976-2016
  • Colonel David Jones, USMC
  • Olmsted Scholar Class of 2000
  • Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Colonel Rod Tanaka, USA
    Olmsted Scholar Class of 1973
  • Tokyo, Japan
  • Colonel Dale VanDusen, USAF
  • Olmsted Scholar Class of 2001
  • Brussels, Belgium
  • Colonel Tom Donovan, USA
  • Olmsted Scholar Class of 1994
  • St. Petersburg, Russia
  • Colonel Angela Suplisson, USAF
  • Olmsted Scholar Class of 2001
  • Lyon, France
  • Lieutenant Colonel Will Melton, USMC
  • Olmsted Scholar Class of 1987
  • Paris, France

Read more about 2016 Robert Yablonski Esprit Award recipient Mr. Joe McManus.